Wild – Cheryl Strayed

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail (Vintage)

So this book was actually on Oprah’s Book Club. It took me longer to read this book than I had planned, and was sad to have to wait so long to finish reading it. (Got it at the library on ebook). However, it was a very good read. This book was a biography in a way. A lady trying to find her own way, and what she should do with the rest of her life. I wish I could have a journey like this one. It reminds me a lot of the Eat, Pray, Love. Except that one was restricted to a set area, the wild and during a 4 month period and another moved from 3 different countries throughout her year. It was interesting to see a different way of how people handle their mid-life crisis.

Anyways, Cheryl Strayed, love that she chose her new name right before her trip. 🙂 Thats definitely trying to start anew. She started out on this journey after her mother died and she divorced her husband. She decided to go on a journey along the Pacific Crest Trail. I do have to say she was a brave soul. A very brave soul being on this trail as a woman, by herself. She traveled a long distance to end up in Portland, and the journey was ended with great reward on her part. The journey it seemed like was a tough one, but it was met with some very highs by friends she met along the way and people who helped her out. Its good to know that there are still people out there that will doing something out of their way out of the kindness of their hearts. I was excited for her, I wanted to know if she would finish, I hoped she wouldn’t give up and I was sad for her when she didn’t have enough money to get her through the next leg of the journey, or when she didn’t have enough money for food or housing. Its probably a very difficult journey, not just on your body, but your mind as well.

Reading through her struggles and her ups and downs transformed this scared, recently divorced person into a very strong woman, brave enough to take care of herself.

Take a chance and read it. I think you would find it interesting. Whatever path you are on in your life, I think you can take a few pointers and lessons from someone like Cheryl Strayed.

One thought on “Wild – Cheryl Strayed

  1. Pingback: Summer Reading List | ricaelise

Leave a comment