3 Months Natural!

I posted this on my twitter a couple of weeks ago: “I can feel my hair growing. Not just seeing it. Feelin it. And it feels great” Now this was no joke. I really can feel my hair growing and getting healthier. Every night I do my hair I can feel the strength in it and feel the softness of it as well. Actually taking care of my hair and watching it has been an amazing adventure. I know I’m becoming one of the naturalistas because every grocery store I go into or any place that has the opportunity to have hair products I will go and just look through them all for who knows how long. I want to try it all! I look at all the ingredients and weight which one I should try next. I keep up with my favorite youtube channel natural ladies, I follow a ton of tumblr accounts to see “curl crushes” and new hair styles, and I am always on curlynikki.com for new and exciting things to do.

I take my wash days seriously. With the time and consideration it needs and using my favorite conditioner at the time.

Products on deck:

GIOVANNI COSMETICS, Conditioner Smooth As Silk – 8.5 oz
As I Am Coconut CoWash 16oz
Bragg – Apple Cider Vinegar, 32 oz liquid
Giovanni Direct Leave-In Conditioner, Weightless Moisture, 8.5-Ounce Containers (Pack of 3)

And I mixture of:

Jamaican Mango & Lime Black Castor Oil (Original) 4 Oz
Doo Gro Mega Thick Growth Oil, 4.5 Ounce (Pack of 2)

(You can get these oils at your local african/indian hair stores for less, but just so you know what they are as reference)
For the past month I’ve been using my new favorite protective style as well. Which is the flat twist outs. Ever since I went to my hair dresser who is a fellow naturalista and she showed me these, I haven’t been able to part with them! Plus its such and easy style to do every night or every other night when I’m feeling tired 😉 I sit in front of the tv doing them and I’m getting better and better each go.

I’m not afraid to sweat or get my hair wet because I know my hair embrasses that moisture. I become more amd more proud of my hair and am loving it more each day. I can see it growing as well! But I’m not going to measure until my 6 month mark. And I dont think I will straighten it until my year mark to actually see my progress. I’ve become afraid of the heat! Haha whereas 3 months ago, I was all about the heat.

Its summer here as it is everywhere, so I’m just keeping it simple with my hair and not putting stress on it and sometimes just letting it be. I know being in a transitional phase it can be hard some days, but hey, I just go with the flow sometimes, its part of my nature being a designer. 🙂

I’ll post for the 4th and 5th months, but I wont show pictures until my 6th month for a big reveal. 😮 🙂

Leave a Reply

