My Hair Journey

I have decided to go on a journey. A Hair Journey. I decided this last week after I realized I was full on damaging my hair by putting so much heat on it. Now I had to decided to go “natural” as of last June, (no relaxers, no more weave) but I wasn’t doing it right, nor was I taking care of my hair in the right ways. So I had a lot of breakage due to heat. I was still using natural hair products as far as shampoo and conditioner. But I decided to turn a new leaf over and do it the right way and become committed. I’ve been all over youtube channels, as well as tumblr, looking for inspiration and how to properly take care of my hair. I’ve ask my dear friend, Christina to help me out, and give me guidance as she has grown her hair out pretty long.

First I had to determine what I wanted for my hair. Which was length of course and strength. I have fairly fine hair and its thin so I definitely am trying to get stronger hair. I’ve been on biotin pills for a couple of months now, and I can tell my nails are getting stronger, but havent seen much difference in my hair. I’m lucky that my hair hasn’t completely gone due to the amount of heat I have put on it. So maybe the biotin helped out a bit. But ,Thank you Jesus.

Then I headed to youtube and looked up videos that my friend had suggested. I’ve learned a great deal and even expanded my knowledge on my own hair. I’ve watched about 50 videos within the past week, trying to find ways that will work for me, and protective styles that I can use during the week when I head to work, and workout at night. I’ve learned methods of washing my hair, how to dry my hair, and how to watch my hair for breakage. I’ve taken notes on a lot of products as well as gone out looking for them.

Just like the women in the video say, just because it works for me, doesn’t mean it will work for you. Which I totally agree. So I think the route I’m taking, is try different products. There is nothing wrong with trying different products, you have to find out what works for you anyways right? Just make sure that you are avoiding some of the ingredients that can harm us natural girls hair. Sulfate-free shampoo and things without silicone in it.

When your first starting out get the basics down: 1. Cleanse 2. Maintenance 3. Style

Make sure you keep your hair moisturized  Our hair needs and loves it! Keep up the Maintenance on your hair and make sure you take care of it. Our hair needs that TLC. And style, remember to use protective styling while your hair is growing, and even after you get the length you want.

There is a lot of I have learned over this past week, and I’m trying not to overwhelm myself with a lot of information and just go at my pace so I don’t get sick of it and stop before I see results.

These are my first steps in a new way of treating my hair! Hope you follow along and enjoy! I’ll keep you posted and put in pictures as well.

IMG_0895 IMG_0897 IMG_0882

 

Signature1

One thought on “My Hair Journey

Leave a Reply

