Inauguration Day and MLK Day… a Black Womans Dream

One can always say “I’m not into politics” or “I don’t do politics”. But what does that even mean?Image

I listened to the Inauguration this morning and watched as history was being made again. A black president being sworn in for his second term on one of the most historically celebrated days for African Americans around the world, Martin Luther King Jr.’s birthday. Even if you disagree with Obama and dont like him as a president, you cant deny what a great day this is for American History. So that ” I don’t do politics” crap can wait ’til tomorrow. I can honestly say this was a very proud moment and day to remember. Hes looking forward, hes focused and has a vision. I know its be a challenging past 4 years for Obama, not only because of his race, but also because of what he walked into being president. Its a hard ship to sail. But I think he has handled a great deal of situations well and I can’t wait to see what the next four years will bring! Ha I know he will have a lot of grey hairs popping up too!

I saw a picture last night on Instagram, on that, betnetworks poste and it was said by a pastor I listen to every Sunday T.D. Jakes…

“I think that it is a part of Dr. King’s dream but I think that it is a long dream… there are many more hills to climb.”

I very much agree with that statement and believe that we have so much more to do to live out Dr. King’s dream and this is just one of many big hills that we have overcome and with many more to still climb. Its inspiring and motivational. We have so much more to accomplish as an African American race and this is just one of the many dreams that we are making come true. We are beating the odds more and more each year as more african americans graduate college and more are staying out of jail. Soon enough, one can only hope that we truly will have equal rights as a nation.

Being a black woman, I wake up everyday beating odds. I’ve got a full-time job, I’ve got bills I pay every month, I’ve graduated college, I’ve got my own car, my only debt is student loans, and much more. I as an independent woman, who doesn’t rely on my parents for hand outs (but love them when they come :)), is beating the odds and I know many more women who are doing the same thing as me and are becoming inspirations for African-Americans coming up in the world. I’ve got a great support system and I realize that I can do a lot and will do a lot in my lifetime. Image

Focused, Forward, and a vision is coming true world, MLK saw it way before his time and Obama is seeing it and apart of it. Just like every African American is as well, apart of a bigger vision.

I can’t wait to see what comes of it.

You and I, as citizens, have the power to set this country’s course. Our journey is not complete.

-Barack Obama

Image

Leave a Reply

